Die for Me by Amy Plum is about a girl named Kate and her sister Georgia. They loose their parents in a car crash and move to Paris to live with their grandparents.  Georgia spends her nights clubbing but Kate spends all her time reading in her room.  Georgia worries about Kate and encourages her read at a café to get out of the house.  At a café, Kate finds an admirer staring at her.  The admirer is Vincent.  He is hiding a big secret.  Over time Kate gets more attached to Vincent and finds out his big secret.  That changes Kate’s world and Vincent’s.

At the beginning of the book, when Kate sees Vincent at the café, it reminded me of Twilight, when Bella sees Edward starring at her in the cafeteria.  It made me think the book was going to be like Twilight. But, I’m glad I kept reading. The book wasn’t like Twilight at all.  It was very different from other books about supernatural teenagers.  It was different from what I’d read before. I came to like the characters, I liked the way they interacted with each other. I also thought it was interesting that the author incorporated another language (French) into the book. This book had romance and action.  Kate was a strong character, she was in love but she wasn’t a cry-baby. The best part was that the girl was the hero in this book, not the guy.”

— Flora McNabb (age 13)

About the Book:
Title: Die For Me
Author: Amy Plum
Released: 05/2011

