Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty

I don’t know why it took me so long to pick up this book. Every time I saw it I thought to myself “oh, I really want to read that book.” But I never got it. I kind of wish I had read it sooner. Anyway, I was at the bookstore looking for a book to read for the airplane (like I needed another book to read) and I finally picked up The Summer I Turned Pretty as a fun lighthearted read.

While I was right, it was a lighthearted read, it also had a definite bittersweet aspect to it. It’s a coming of age story but the whole time it has this sense that the summers after this one won’t be the same. And it’s kind of Belly’s last perfect summer. So it definitely is bittersweet.

I was hesitant to review this book just because it’s kind of a special book. I heard someone say that they felt like Jenny Han was writing about them during The Summer I Turned Pretty. Exactly how I felt. There were some parts where I was completely Belly. I had completely gone through what Belly had and felt her emotions. That’s a sign of a pretty good book, right?

I devoured this book in one big gulp because I love love loved it! If you haven’t read this book, go read it right now. 🙂

— Meredith, age 14

About the Book:
Title: The Summer I Turned Pretty
Author: Jenny Han
Release Date: 03/2010

 

One thought on “Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty

Leave a Reply

