Zachary is a fallen angel who lost his Guardian Angel status to save the soul of his eternal love, Miranda who had been a vampire before Zachary “saved her soul” and sent her on the path to heaven. Now Zachary is stuck on Earth watching over a vampire named Quince and Miranda is watching over him in the Penultimate (a stop where the dead go before going to heaven). When Miranda’s past best friend goes to a school run by the devil Zachary and Kieren (Quincie’s werewolf boyfriend) go to save her before she get’s dragged down to hell!

Diabolical is a cleverly written story about conflicting love and the constant battle between doing what’s one is expected and what is right. It is told from the points of view of Miranda, Zachary, and Kieren and the author cleverly alternates between the characters in such a way that I truly felt that I was part of the story. One of the characteristics of this book that I greatly enjoyed was how there is always a new challenge added to the main conflict. The book never dragged and always left me entertained and wanting to turn the page. When I first saw this book I was hesitant on reading it because it seemed to me that it was going to be a dark, twisted tale, but I was happily proven wrong. I recommend this book to people who are looking for a different kind of action story with some romance incorporated in, and a bit of werewolf, vampire, angel, and devil action.

— Jacqueline, age 15

About the Book:
Title: Diabolical
Author: Cynthia Leitich Smith
Release Date: 02/2012

