Laura’s Favorites

Seraphina was not only one of my favorite reads this summer, but possibly of all time! I truly loved the way dragons were depicted more as actual animals with a close history to humans rather than their usual mystical portrayal. The fact that this was all set in a time period that I feel is more of a modern middle age (my favorite time period when it comes to novels) is like a cherry on top of the sundae. The struggle that Seraphina must endure in order to unite two kingdoms is heartfelt and amazing and kept me totally enraptured from beginning to end.

The Diviners is by far one of my favorite novels set in the early 1900’s. Evie O’Neill is so far from your average girl and her story is so outlandishly interesting that I was reading her story, and that of her friends, morning, noon, and night. By the time I finally finished all 500-ish pages, I found it hard to not adopt 1920’s idioms such as “pos-i-tute-ly” or “I’m jake”. The way Libba Bray incorporated all different aspects of magic, the paranormal, and other out-of-this-world features into a somewhat modern world piqued my interest and not only managed to fulfill that interest, but go above and beyond anything I could have expected.

The Crown of Embers (sequel to The Girl of Fire and Thorns) continues the story of one of my favorite series. I find that I’m drawn to this book because of the Aladdin like world it’s set in. The desert kingdom surrounded by bright colors is so very appealing to me (especially since the climate is reminiscent of this Texas heat). The setting aside, I love the story of Elisa and how she’s thrust into the middle of a foreign, war-filled kingdom and must rise to the challenge of being the strong leader her people need. Her mistakes and how she learns from them is refreshing and the fact that they happen often gives her a more human feel that is easy for me to relate with.

 

See Emily’s Picks

See Kendall’s Picks

