Before reading Cinder I’d heard a lot of hype and buzz about it. I was excited to read the novel, but  a little skeptical about whether or not I would like it because it was sci-fi. Thankfully Cinder pulled me into the story, and I ended up loving it.

Cinder is a futuristic retelling of Cinderella. Cinder is the main character who lives one-hundred and twenty something years after the fourth world war (see what we have to look forward to?). Cinder lives with her snarky step-mom and two step sisters (although one of them is nice) and she works as a mechanic. When Prince Kai asks Cinder to fix one of his androids, Cinder falls for him in a way she thought was impossible. Cinder learns that the evil Lunar queen of the moon, Queen Levana, is forcing Prince Kai into marriage, the other option being a war between the Lunars and Earthens. This book is a whirlwind of action, involving a plague, an evil moon queen, an out-of-place girl, a crazy doctor, and (of course) a charming prince.

I liked Cinder because it was a unique and subtle retelling of a classic fairytale everyone knows. I would be in the middle of a paragraph and think “Oh! That’s how this plays into the Cinderella story.” I’m normally not a sci-fi fan, but after I warmed up to this novel I really enjoyed it. I loved the main character, Cinder, and I especially enjoyed Cinder’s android companion Iko who was sassy and adorable.

The only negative thing I have to say about Cinder is that the beginning was slow. Over the course of about five days I read 100 pages, and then I got on a roll and read the last 270 or so in one night. I had a hard time getting used to all of the sci-fi terminology (Lunars, Cyborgs, Earthens, androids, med-droids, etc,), but after I got comfortable with seeing these words on the page, I enjoyed the novel.

I recommend Cinder to sci-fi lovers, because you will adore this novel. If sci-fi is out of your comfort-zone Cinder just may get you hooked on reading sci-fi. I loved this book and can’t wait to read Marissa Meyer’s newest book, Scarlet. Cinder left me on a cliff hanger hoping for more. I hope you check out Cinder!

-Erin

About the Book
Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Release Date: 1/2012

