THE LIVING: I Thought I Knew How It Was Going to End

the living

Title: The Living
Author: Matt De La Pena
Release Date: 11/12/2013

Reviewed by: Hayden

The Living begins like a textbook survival novel. Boy out on high seas, random girl who hates him, group of friends he would give his life for. At the beginning, I thought I knew how it was going to end. I was way off. This book switches through genres like an old man flipping through an address book. The writer picks each genre up, plays with it for a little while, and places it in his back pocket, just when you thought you knew what was coming next. Matt De La Peña takes his reader on a adventure whose ending I honestly could not predict, and I couldn’t be happier. As the story progresses I went from laughing so hard that I was crying, to glaring at each world that slid past my eyes, and I couldn’t put it down. I would suggest this book to any avid reader. I hope they enjoy it as much as I have, it is a perfect read on a rainy day.

Leave a Reply

