JUNE BUZZ BOOK: GUY IN REAL LIFE by Steven Brezenoff

W H A T   T H E   T E E N   P R E S S   I S   S A Y I N G
“The combinations of real life romance and game play make this book great for girls and boys. But even better than the romance and game play is that the characters are relatable.”
-Kendall

A B O U T   T H E   B O O K
From the acclaimed author of Brooklyn, Burning comes Guy in Real Life, an achingly real and profoundly moving love story in the vein of Rainbow Rowell and John Green, about two Minnesota teens whose lives become intertwined through school, role-playing games, and a chance two-a.m. bike accident. It is Labor Day weekend in Saint Paul, Minnesota, and boy and girl collide on a dark street at two thirty in the morning: Lesh, who wears black, listens to metal, and plays MMOs; Svetlana, who embroiders her skirts, listens to Bjork and Berlioz, and dungeon masters her own RPG. They should pick themselves up, continue on their way, and never talk to each other again. But they don’t. This is a story of the roles we all play–at school, at home, online, and with our friends–and the one person who might be able to show us who we are underneath it all.
guy in real life
N A T I O N A L   B U Z Z

“Brezenoff conjures a wry, wise and deeply sympathetic portrait of the exquisite, excruciating thrill of falling in love.”
-KIRKUS REVIEWS

“In a voice full of authentic grit, poetic verve, and real emotion, Steve Brezenoff weaves a tale that feels both wholly original and instantly classic. Another fantastic book from a writer I envy and admire.”
-Sara Zarr, National Book Award finalist for Story Of a Girl

Guy In Real Life is a remarkably original, addictive novel that illuminates the roles we play for others and, ultimately, ourselves. A must-read for anyone who questions who they truly are, and who they could be.”
-Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and 17 & Gone

“I suppose Steve Brezenoff will have to grow up one of these days and forget what it was like to be sixteen, but let’s hope it doesn’t happen too soon—at least not to the part of him that can write a book like Guy in Real Life.”
-Pete Hautman, National Book Award-winning author of Godless
Advertisements