Buzz Book Review! CONVERSION: This Book is FAB-U-LOUS

conversion

Title: Conversion
Author: Katherine Howe
Release Date: 07/1/2014
Reviewed by: Willa

This book is FABULOUS. FAB-U-LOUS. It is thought-provoking, different, unique and something that would appeal to readers both teen and adult, in my opinion.

I honestly do not know how to describe this book. It has so many different elements. There’s a historical plot line of the Salem Village outbreak which was something I had never ever heard of and want to now learn more about. Also, there’s a lot on The Crucible, which I haven’t read yet, which I wish I had done prior to reading this. (The Crucible is based on the plot line we follow from Salem Village.) Howe did a fantastic job tying the historical plot line into the present day plot line and weaving the stories together. Bravo to Katherine Howe!

As for the present day narrative, this was definitely my favorite. (Although I did like the historical one, it just moved slower.) Coleen, the main character, was really interesting to read about because she’s very easy to relate to. Especially for me, as a girl who goes to an all girls school and has a lot of academic pressures, I think this look into what’s it’s like to go to a school like that is really valuable and also truthful. What they decide caused the epidemic in the end is quite weird in many ways, but also makes sense. And the scary thing is I can see it happening at other schools. I don’t want to give too much away, so I’m going to leave it at that!

Overall, I can’t recommend this book enough. It’s a bit more of a difficult read than your standard YA book, in my opinion, because of the historical plot line, but it’s so worth the time and money. Conversion is one of my favorite books of 2014!

Leave a Reply

