EMILY

Stay Where You Are And Then Leave by John Boyne

“Alfie is five years old when WWI breaks out and his father volunteers to serve in the war. This is a heart-breaking story of a son’s love for his father that brings to light how much PTSD affects veterans and the people who surround them.”

 

HALEY

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

Perfected was a thought-provoking read set in a dystopian America where young girls can be adopted as pets. I was pleasantly surprised with the world and characters in this book.”

 

WILLA

Rites of Passage by Joy Hensley

“So far I’m really excited for this book, mainly because it’s such a unique and interesting topic. I mean, girl goes to military school on a dare? Yes, please!!!”

 

Mackinsey

Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

“I am so sad to see this series come to an end, but I am loving reading this last installment so far! It has all the romance and action that was promised and it should be an amazing series closer. I cannot wait to see what Laini Taylor is going to write next!”

 

HAYDEN

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

“The story of East of Eden is within all of us. The fight against darker desires of the human world. Jealously, Hatred, and sometimes murder.”

 

SOFIA

Hope is a Ferris Wheel by Robin Herrera

“Star lives in a trailer park with her mom and sister. Being the new kid at school doesn’t help and making friends is even harder; especially when you get teased for all of the above.  The only thing that gets her through every day is reading her favorite poems by Emily Dickinson. This is a very touching read so far and my heart goes out to the main character. I hope everything works out for her by the end of the book. So far I am really enjoying it!”

