Title: Rites of Passage
Author: Joy Hensley
Release Date: 09/01/2014
Reviewed by: Willa

Does this not look interesting or what? Military school, some fiery attraction to a forbidden guy, and a secret society? GIMME. Rites of Passage is a roller coaster of a book. It starts off a bit slow, and it just kind of plods along, but as it progresses through the story and the stakes keep rising, it gets increasingly more interesting. Sam is a character who I found myself rooting for from the start; her perseverance and determination to succeed at not a small feat, especially in the face of so many obstacles. (Both people and more physical obstacles.) She’s funny, caring, tenacious, and is such a refreshing female main character, in my opinion. I want more main characters like Sam, please. Characters who fall in love, show weakness, but still puts herself and her own needs first. Also, Hensley is an incredible writer. I can’t wait to see what she writes after Rites of Passage — which, by the way, I’m very happy is a standalone. I’m hooked on her writing!

Lastly, the other girls in this book are such great characters. Diverse in their personalities, but all are equally strong women. I just really love this book.

