May Buzz Book: AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabba Tahir

May Buzz Book:

An Ember In The Ashes by Sabba Tahir

 

What the Teen Press Corps Is Saying

“I’d heard a lot about this book before reading it – the rave reviews for this book were flying in from basically every blogger I know. I, however, wanted to wait. To savor this book. This book may look daunting and absolutely frightening, but then you’re reading it’s just a downhill ride into fabulous. Tahir is one heck of a writer. The world she builds in An Ember in the Ashes (also can we talk about that name?!) is complex but perfectly explained so the reader has just enough information.

An Ember in the Ashes is incredible. It’s exciting, beautiful, and rich in detail – it’s impossible not to be swept by the story. Look for An Ember in the Ashes today and GO BUY IT.”

-Willa, Teen Press Corps

 

About the Book

I WILL TELL YOU THE SAME THING I TELL EVERY SLAVE.
 
THE RESISTANCE HAS TRIED TO PENETRATE THIS SCHOOL COUNTLESS TIMES. I HAVE DISCOVERED IT EVERY TIME.
 
IF YOU ARE WORKING WITH THE RESISTANCE, IF YOU CONTACT THEM, IF YOU THINK OF CONTACTING THEM, I WILL KNOW

AND I WILL DESTROY YOU. 

Laia is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

Elias is the academy’s finest soldier — and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.

National Buzz

“Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy.”

US Weekly

“Blew me away…This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic—expect to be completely transported.”

MTV.com

“Perfect for fans of Maggie Stievater’s The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas’s Throne of Glass series . . . b>The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!”

TeenVogue.com

“A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs . . . An Ember in the Ashes is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.”

MTV.com

“The much anticipated fantasy An Ember in the Ashesmixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones . . . and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet.”

The Hollywood Reporter
  
“An original, well-constructed fantasy world . . . truly engaging.”

Kirkus Reviews

 

About the Author

a novel by sabbasabba tahir 2

Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s 18-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks, and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay area with her family.

 

Grab The Buzz Book!

Advertisements

One thought on “May Buzz Book: AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabba Tahir

  1. Pingback: Interview With Buzz Book Author Sabaa Tahir! | BookPeople Teen Press Corps

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s