snow like ashes

Title: Snow Like Ashes
Author: Sara Raasch
Release Date: 4/28/2015
Reviewed by: Willa

Either I missed the hype on this book or there wasn’t enough of it because HOLY CRAP.

A lot of people think of me as a 100% contemporary girl, but I love a good high fantasy. I love a book that can suck me in and I’m able to just lose myself in the world – and Snow Like Ashes was no different. Raasch built a world that is fairly easy to grasp and keep you engaged throughout the story.

The book focuses on Meira and her fellow Winterian refugee’s battle to regain their kingdom. Meira is one KICK BUTT GIRL and I loved it. A lot of YA heroines are either the hesitant heroine or the semi-hesitant one, but Meira was in the battle. She reminded me a lot of Selena from the Throne of Glass series, with her weapon-wielding-take-down-an-army attitude. I absolutely adored Meira, from the start to finish.

One thing that I think may put people off about this book is the love triangle. But NEVER FEAR – it’s incredibly well done. I was even torn between Mather and Theron (but I think I’m a Theron girl myself – I like all the art he has in his room). The thing about the romance in this book is that it’s not the main focus of the story. The story focuses, rather, on Meira and Winter. Raasch incorporated enough romance to keep all of us romantics engaged, but keeps the attention on Meira’s growth and struggles as a character.

While I reading Snow Like Ashes I was continually thinking, “HOW MUCH MORE CAN HAPPEN IN THIS BOOK?!” There is a battle, a kidnapping, a love triangle, death, and betrayal. It’s so full of events that I was emotionally drained by the end of it. I can’t even imagine what Raasch is going to put into the second one, but I know I am practically salivating for it. I need more Meira! More Theron! More Mather! More Winter! More royalty dramas! More INCREDIBLY WRITTEN BATTLE SCENES (because the ones in this book is spot-on)!

Please give me Ice Like Fire now.
Editor’s note: Ice Like Fire will be available October 13!

