national best friends dayWhether it is a real life friend, or a fictional friend in a book, today is the day to cherish and appreciate those special people known as best friends. We know and love them in the real world and we fall in love with them in books. Since this is a literary blog, we thought about all the characters we’ve read about, and the Teen Press Corps has come up with some of their favorite friends from literature that they wish were their friends in reality. So grab a friend or in this case a book and meet your new favorite friends in literature!

 

Olivia

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling & The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

hermonieHermione Granger–Since I first “met” Hermione when I was eight years old, I’ve always LOVED her. She was someone I could relate to and a go-to in my favorite series. She is such a great female character filled with strength, courage, and intelligence.
Charlie, perks of being a wallflower from Perks of Being a Wallflower, a touching novel that hits home for me. I love Charlie for he’s the most relatable character to me. I have never ever been able to connect and empathize with any other character as much as I do with Charlie. He struggles with similar things as I — with being an introvert and dealing with mental health issues/disorders. Both these characters will always be in my heart and I would be glad to call them my friends in real life!

 

Aurora

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

gracelingI really love Katsa & Po from Graceling. They’re the perfect pair for everything. They know each other so well and are so much alike. They are definitely my favorite best friend duo.

 

Kendall

Every Day by David Levithaneveryday

In real life, I would love to be friends with A from Every Day by David Levithan. I feel like he really needs a friend and I think it would really be cool to see him everyday and help him through his process. This is a very amazing read and everyone should meet A and get to know him.

 

Emily

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oaks

sacred lies of minnow blyI’d honestly love to read a whole book about Angel. She loves to read nonfiction books and learn about space, and she came out of her hard shell to become Minnow’s friend. She is a great friend to Minnow and I wouldn’t mind having a best friend like her.

 

Haleyalice in zombieland

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

I have a never-ending list of amazing YA characters that I wish could be my real life BFF’s, but Ali Bell from Alice in Zombieland is definitely at the top. Ali embodies the most important characters of a bestie: she is sweet, caring, downright hilarious, and never fails to cheer me up! Though there is one problem with being Ali’s friend: I would be insanely jealous of her boyfriend Cole Holland, and probs steal him from her . . . what can a girl do?

best-book-friend-1015x395
