salt to the sea

Title: Salt to the Sea
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Release Date: 2/2/16
Reviewed by: Emily

Ruta Sepetys is one of the most talented young adult historical fiction authors.

Salt to the Sea, told from four points of view, features the cousin, Joana, of Lina from Sepetys’ first novel
Between Shades of Grey. It’s clear that Sepetys did her research on the Wilhelm Gustoff and East Prussia during World War 2. It added richness and life to the story without reading like a history textbook, which kept the story moving at a lively pace.

I cannot tell you how amazing all the ways in which the four person POV used were, but I’ll try my best. The repetition of onomonopias and metaphors throughout each character’s view was incredible. Each character’s chapters became shorter in high-energy events, giving the reader an adrenaline rush. These short chapters also made it way too easy for me to say “I’ll just read one more” and suddenly it’s early morning and I’ve finished the book.

Salt to the Sea ripped my heart into little pieces and I liked it, and I still think about this book a month after finishing it. Everyone should read this book.

 

Buy the Buzz Book Today!

