because youll never meet me

 

Title: Because You’ll Never Meet Me
Author: Leah Thomas
Release Date: 6/2/2015
Reviewed by: Aurora

 

I don’t think I’ve read something even close to this before. Yes, the characters deal with bullying, loneliness, and other more pressing issues, but it didn’t have the same feel as most. These problems weren’t surface level and easily fixable. These felt real and genuine, almost like the author, Leah Thomas, really knew how to live with these things.

Two boys, Ollie and Moritz, become best friends through a pen pal relationship. They wish to meet but never can because of one’s life-threatening allergy to electricity and the other’s pacemaker. Even so, they write letters to each other about basically everything from a secret evil laboratory to romance and a glockenspiel. They tell each other the stories of their lives and bring out new sides in each other.

In this story, you see the light and dark parts of having an illness or physical disability. How bad things can get for them, but that makes the happy stuff seem even better. I honestly appreciate so many of the things I consider normal for me more.

I was pulled in from the very first paragraph. It’s actually kind of bad how much stuff I put off to continue reading. I don’t think there was a single part that didn’t seem up to par with the rest of the story. The structure of the whole book with the letters that told their stories made everything so much more personal. Honestly, I know they’re letters to each other, but I don’t completely think of them as that. They’re more like pieces of an autobiography the two characters are writing to each other with added little side notes and comments.

I have to say, at times I was dying from the stories being broken up like in real letters. I’d only get to read a small chunk of one of the boy’s stories and would have to wait for the next part. Then, as I finish the next letter, I’m waiting for the next one of that side of the story. It was an endless cycle of wanting more. I have to say, it worked though because it was so hard to put the book down.

As with every great novel, it leaves you wanting more. But I like that it gives you space to imagine for yourself what comes next.

Because You’ll Never Meet Me is simply a stunning story. I highly recommend this to anyone no matter what genres you like.

