pretty little liars

Title: Pretty Little Liars 
Author: Sara Shepard
Release Date: 8/21/07
Reviewed by: Haley

In the quaint little town of Rosewood, Pennsylvania, nothing is ever as it seems.  Don’t believe me?  Well listen to this: the perfect family with the manicured lawn and picturesque white picket fence that lives right next to you has had three credit cards denied over the past week.  The girl that took your spot as top of the English class is using her Harvard-bound brother’s annotated books.  And the cute barista that served you your coffee today?  Don’t even get me started.

See?  I told you.  Everyone in Rosewood has a secret.  Or secrets, plural, if you’re one of Rosewood Day’s pretty little liars.  They’re up to their necks in it.

First, there’s Aria Montgomery, who enjoys English class (and her teacher) a little too much.  Talk about a teacher’s pet!  Then, there’s Spencer Hastings, who likes and does everything her sister Melissa likes and does…even Melissa’s boyfriend.  Emily Fields is hiding secrets of her own, too.  Her new friend Maya may just be more than a friend.  Oh, and I can’t forget Hanna!  Hanna Marin’s a dirty blonde who uses dirty beauty tricks.

And they’re all ex-best friends with a dead girl.  Talk about drama.

“I plan on spilling every single dirty secret.  After all, they deserve it after what they did to me.”

-A

I AM OBSESSED WITH THESE BOOKS.  So, so obsessed.  I don’t usually like mystery books, but Sara Shepard killed it (Literally? Quite possibly) with Pretty Little Liars.  When I read one of these books, I can slowly see the plot building up, and then all of a sudden just about everything I thought I knew whilst reading the book is WRONG.  Completely opposite.  It’s the sort of mind-blowing genius that can only come from Sara Shepard.  Anothermajor plus to this series is that I can keep watching the television show without being spoiled from reading the books.  The plot in the books starts off the same, but takes a completely different turn.  So if you’re like me and can’t get enough of the Pretty Little Liars television show, read the books!  It’s like an alternate reality version of the show.  The last book in the series, Vicious, just came out.  Sooooo, read it!  Figure out who “A” is, and then watch people grovel at your feet for his (or her?) identity!  And remember: keep your friends close and your secrets closer.

