ruined

Title: Ruined
Author: Amy Tintera
Release Date: 5/3/16
Reviewed by: Parker

      So I guess the first time I really read a YA book with a powerful female character was The Hunger Games. I met Katniss Everdeen when I was in third grade. You might think, “That’s too young to read about kids killing each other!”, but my parents knew I could handle it. They had already seen their 9-year-old tomboy be okay with things like scary movies, haunted houses and BookPeople’s Camp Half-Blood, so they let me read Susanne Collins’ Hunger Games series. I absolutely loved it, and I loved Katniss Everdeen. I even started doing archery.  

      Then a couple of years later, at the Texas Teen Book Festival, I discovered two more hardcore heroines: Marie Lu’s Adelina Amouteru from The Young Elites and Sarah J. Maas’ Celaena Sardothian from The Throne of Glass. These two young women’s strong-willed and powerful personalities have made many fans across the country adore them.

     And now, author Amy Tintera has created another fierce female in her book Ruined: Emelina Flores.

Emelina is a useless Ruined, where she has no magic in her whatsoever. Her kingdom is destroyed, with her little sister kidnapped and her parents murdered. Even though she lacks the other Ruined’s magical abilities, she is determined to avenge her family and kingdom. Her plan is to pose as the enemy kingdom’s Prince Cas’s betrothed who is arriving from another kingdom. Then she will organize an ambush, which will lead to the deaths of the royal family. As Em spends more time with Cas, she begins to fall in love with him. Love is a big problem, though, considering how much is at stake.

     If you like a book full of action, revenge and romance, then Ruined is just for you. This medieval magic setting is just my style. Like Katniss, Celaena and Adelina, Em is a strong girl who you don’t want to mess with. I really like Amy Tintera’s writing style; she’s clever and humorous, and the book was really fun to read.

     This is the first book I have read of Tintera’s, and it makes me want to read her other books, Reboot and Rebel. I also look forward to the sequel of Ruined. Go check out Amy Tintera’s books now!

