9781101932049

Title: Lost And The Found 
Author: Cat Clarke
Release Date:9/13/16
Reviewed by: Emily 

I stayed up until 2 in the morning to finish this book. I immediately texted one of my friends and said, “I just finished this book and honestly I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep for a while. You need to read it.” Which is a very common text to receive from me.

The not-being-able-to-sleep is for two different reasons. For the first part of the book, it was because I was too scared to sleep without my lights on, my door locked, and my dog in my room with me (so I can blame any weird sounds I hear on her). For the last part of the book, it was because my mind was going a thousand miles a minute. The last paragraph of the book just completely blew my mind. Just those few sentences made me see the story in a whole new light.

Laurel doesn’t know how to feel when her sister, Faith, comes back into her life. Since she was four years old, her life has been defined by the absence of Faith. Now that she’s back, Laurel feels like Faith is almost squeezing herself into the spot where Laurel has lived for the past fourteen years, from making perfect macarons with Michel, their dad’s boyfriend, for the farmer’s market to becoming their mom’s sole focus once again. On the surface, it all seems normal: Faith wants to become part of the family again, and Laurel is struggling to understand her life now that it’s been changed by the reappearance of her sibling. But Cat Clarke takes this little things and twists them into something much more meaningful, and much, much darker.

 

As a forewarning, The Lost and The Found discusses child abuse, kidnapping, and sexual assault.

