9780778319443

Title: Only Daughter
Author: Anna Snoekstra
Release Date: 9/20/16
Reviewed by: Miriam

Rebecca Winters is living the life. A 16 year old girl going to parties with her friends, working with a hot guy, and hitting the pool with her little brothers, nothing could go wrong. . . or so she thought. Rebecca Winters was declared kidnapped and missing that same summer. Now a decade later she is found but it’s not her, it’s her “doppelgänger”.

When I first started reading this book I assumed this would be the typical girly read. But boy, was I wrong. With so many plot twists and emotional roller coasters, I can’t believe I’m still living. It’s a quick read but man, is it intense. My favorite characters were Rebecca’s brothers. They were nice,  funny, and could easily unease a tense situation. My least favorite character was the mom because there was always something off about her. She always seemed off in her own world, not quite with it. The book jumps from the doppelgänger’s point of view in the present (2011) to Rebecca’s point of view in the past (2001). I liked the way this was done you could easily distinguish who was talking and made the plot thicker, although it was still very easy to follow along.

I have to say I was very surprised with this book. Kudos to the author for writing such a exciting book with the amount of pages she did.

