StarKid

By Aurora Zemborain

very potter

The Harry Potter books are a staple of young life. Some of you may have read the whole series through eight or nine times. Now, there’s no shame in that. I mean, come on, it’s Harry (freaking) Potter. However, there is something beyond the normal series to help satisfy that magical craving.

StarKid.

I’m honestly not even sure how my description of StarKid can do it justice, but I’ll try my best. This is a group of extreme Harry Potter lovers who created a comedic musical version of the series. They have gone on to make other musicals, but the Potter ones are their originals and I always love originals.

The group has done a fantastic job of taking bits and pieces of each book then skillfully mashing them together into a complete storyline. Not only is the comedy and story well written, but the music and actors are amazing too. Each composition has lyrics that perfectly fit the story and a melody that is original and not too simple or overly complex. And don’t even get me started on the actors. Some of them have this great ability to pull at your heart strings and really make you feel like you’re in the story with them. And little fun fact, the actor who plays Harry is none other than Darren Criss, who you may remember as Blaine from Glee.

It’s honestly hard to believe a group of college students could pull this off so well. The time and effort it take to put together any production, much less one of this caliber, is insane. So with a college workload on top, I can’t even imagine. Still, everyone on the team is amazing at what they do and you can tell they love it.

These three musicals are what I consider to be some of the best fan-based additions to the Harry Potter universe since the books came out. They really bring you back to a familiar story (with some added twists) without spending weeks reading back through the books. I can’t tell you how many times I have rewatched and shared StarKid with friends. Just like the books, the musicals feel timeless. Now seriously, go on YouTube. Look up StarKid. Find A Very Potter Musical. And start watching immediately. I swear you won’t regret it.

Check out StarKid’s A Very Potter Musical Here!

