Boldly Bookish Write Up

boldly bookish

By Aurora Zemborain

I don’t know if I’ve seen a better panel of authors than Boldly Bookish. All four brought something special to the mix. I honestly don’t think a minute went by without something funny being said.

First let’s start with Brigid Kemmerer, author of The Elemental series, Letters to the Lost, and Thicker Than Water. I have actually read Letters to the Lost so I was really excited to meet the mind behind it. Brigid was so nice and friendly, even though I didn’t really know what to say to her. During the event, it became very clear how family oriented she is, despite her husband saying her characters aren’t real people. I mean, we all know it’s true, but they still feel real so you can’t just say that. But I think the highlight was that she apparently wanted to have a kid with a winter birth. And not for school or present purposes. No, she wanted the snow to block them into the house so that she’d have a good story. Definitely an author-like thing to say.

Now let’s move on to Sarah Tolcser, who wrote Song of the Current. I was actually really impressed by her vast knowledge of ships. I know that’s expected given she writes about seafaring adventures, but seriously. The panel moderator made a little comment about seeing a Schooner over vacation and Sarah immediately started describing it. And unexpectedly, she is really into NBA Basketball and even use to write a blog on it. I have to say though, one of my favorite things she said was that in her book, she jokingly put in the phrase “she released a breath she didn’t know she was holding.” I just love that she purposely added a little cliched for her own amusement. Also, for all you young writers, Sarah started writing in 7th grade and now she has a published book. Maybe that could be you some day.

Next, is Tara Altebrando, author of many novels, but most recently The Possible and The Leaving. The really strange and twisted story concepts that she mentioned were so interesting, despite not being in the genres I usually read. It was evident that she loves mysteries, especially with her love of crime shows. However, I actually found it pretty funny that she has a no-go writing list, basically topics or things she is no longer allowed to write about, like Ferris wheels and dead mothers. But I think the best (and creepiest) thing Tara said is that her daughter gave her the idea for thriller, The Leaving. Apparently, before bed one night, her daughter said that the next day a man she met at the park would be taking her to the Leaving. Spooky, huh?

The final author was Emery Lord, who wrote The Start of Me & You, When We Collided, and The Names They Gave Us. She loves writing summer stories and of course the 4th of July moments that come with them. But when she’s writing specifics scenes, the awkward and painful ones are surprisingly the easiest and most fun for her to write about. Talking about her newest book, The Names They Gave Us, I was really interested that she tried to present religion without any sort of positive or negative view on it. Since it’s often in real teenage life, she wanted that to not be a plot device, but still be there. However, the stories of her husband were amazingly hilarious. Once when Emery was crying in her office, her husband said he was so happy that her writing was going well. I actually felt like Emery really would be someone I would be friends with because of her obsession with the Great British Bake Off (with all its incredibly nice people) and her camp counselor experiences (since I’m one myself). Emery was so easy to talk to and kept making me smile.

I would be beyond happy to see any one of these authors speak again because each and every one was so funny. Afterwards, I immediately added many of their books to my reading list. I’m really excited to start them and see what else these brilliant mind have in store for us.

