“Sometimes I wish I could go back to being ten years old. Even just for a day. Everything was easier then.”

little and lion '

LITTLE & LION

By: Brandy Colbert

Review by: Ivy


Suzette has just gotten back from boarding school on the other side of the country, and her hometown of LA has never seemed more uninviting. After exploring her sexuality with her roommate on the East Coast, everything’s changed. Her family and friends are fine with whatever she identifies as, but now Suz has begun to fall for the same girl her brother, Lionel, appears to be in love with.

Lionel had just gotten diagnosed with bipolar disorder before Suz left for school, and now that she’s back it seems like the siblings have grown farther apart than ever before. Suz wants to help her brother, but also wants to live her life, and Lionel, strangely, doesn’t want to join her. Suzette is pulled between her dating life, her friends, her family, and her loyalty to her brother who doesn’t seem to want her love anymore.

Little & Lion was so much more than I bargained for. I was practically sure that I wasn’t going to enjoy this book (mainly based on the fact that I didn’t like the cover), but I was extremely, incredibly wrong. The characters and bold and relatable, the relationships are realistic and messy, and the parents aren’t the villains.

The plot of Little & Lion was totally unique. It was equally led by Lionel’s battle with bipolar and Suzette’s struggles with her sexuality. While the whole book was told from Suz’s perspective, the story didn’t feel taken over by either conflict. This wasn’t just a book about self-discovery, and this wasn’t just a book about mental health. This was mostly a book about family, and how far you should go for your siblings.

Overall, Little & Lion is a wonderful book perfect for fans of Lily and Dunkin and Ramona Blue. If you want a sweet and relatable main character simply trying to be a sixteen year old to the best of her ability, this book will be a treat. I now love Brandy Colbert, and I can’t wait for her next books. Rating: Five/Five

 

Favorite Quotes:

 

  • “We’re sixteen. People expect us to fuck up.”

 

  • “There are different levels of trust, and I need to get back to the point where he trusts me so much he no longer has to say it aloud.”
  • “Bravery doesn’t always look like you think it will. And it’s never too late to stand up for the right thing.”