The Teen Press Corps recently got together to talk BOOKS (as we do), going over what stories captured our hearts in 2019 and what we’re dying to get our hands on in 2020, like Infinity Son and Sword in the Stars!

Here are a bunch of our favorite books we read this year, in case you find yourself in your local bookstore doing some holiday shopping… Happy reading!

Colleen’s picks!

IMG_1347 (1)The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

“A gorgeous tale of mystery, magic and romance woven together with fluid, vivid writing. I loved the unique characters and lively time period! It’s so captivating!”

Supernova by Marissa Meyer

“An epic conclusion to the Renegades trilogy, Supernova is packed with intrigue and power struggles that will keep you wondering who the heroes really are. For readers who enjoy conflicted villains, strong characters, politics, and superheroes!”

Rosie’s pick!

A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

“After trauma struck Annabelle’s life, she hardly recognizes herself. Hopeless and empty she takes her pain and channels it into running across the U.S. A Heart in a Body in the World will make you smile but also cry as Annabelle discovers meaning and hope in the ruins of her once picture-perfect life.”

Liri’s pick!

Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott, Mikki Daughtry, and Tobias Iaconis

“A look into the life of people with CF, falling in love and not being able to touch. Five Feet Apart is so sad and happy, it is so intimate and real and you get to know so much of what it’s like to be a kid in the hospital and how much you miss living your life.”

Ming’s Pick!

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan by Sherry ThomasIMG_1350

The Magnolia Sword is a tale of a blood feud and a reconciliatory journey. Hua Mulan has trained her entire life to battle in a duel for possession of her two heirloom swords, but when war comes to the region, she must dress as a man and go fight. Soon she finds herself racing to save the country.”

Ming also read and loved Julius Caesar this year!

Fatimah’s Pick!

Defy Me by Tahereh Mafi

“The fifth book in Tahereh Mafi’s bestselling Shatter Me series, Defy Me continues the story of Juliette Ferrars and her fight against the Reestablishment. This book does a great job of putting a bow on the conflicts from the previous books, while setting the groundwork for her next book, Imagine Me. This is a great feel-good book for fans of Six of Crows and A Court of Thorns and Roses.”

Xander’s Picks!

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

“This is a really fun, festive collection of short stories all about winter and the holidays. It has so much variety and goes perfectly with a cup of hot chocolate, some warm socks, and a fire. Read it this winter so you don’t have to wait another year for the season to come around!”

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

“Five outcast kids. A police investigation. A jar of ashes. A postmortem bucket list. A small town in New Jersey. David Arnold’s sophomore novel is a wild and exciting adventure about good friendships, coping with difficult times, and finding a home even when you don’t have one.”

Ivy’s picks!

The Past and Other Things that Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

“A good friend will bury your body. A best friend will dig you back up. A morbid study of IMG_1348friendship stuffed with bright characters contained within an awesome cover. Written by the author most adept at making me cry.”

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

“Overall, Ninth House is a smart, dark and thrilling new adult fantasy from an author I already knew to be wise, detailed and deliciously goth. Leigh Bardugo lets that particular witchy part shine in a book full of ghosts, magic and general spookiness. In its essence, Ninth House is perfect for Halloween or any other time of the year when you feel the need for grim guts, lavish Latin and a perfectly structured, precisely written and wonderfully mysterious novel.”

Are You Listening? by Tillie Walden

Are You Listening? is a beautiful piece of magical realism, with enough mystery and heart to make it refreshingly profound as well as easily re-readable. I’d not only recommend it to fans of Walden’s previous work, but also to anyone looking for one of the most original graphic novels I’ve read in a long time.”


Did you know…?

We have our own display in BookPeople’s Teen section! Here you can find handmade recommendation cards for books we love! Want more? Check out the “TPC Faves” Highlight on BookPeople’s Instagram!

IMG_2121