Review by: Riley

9780062642592As a reader, I understand that I am particularly drawn to books with titles including the word “lies”. It’s my type. Tall, dark, and lies. So, when I saw The Lies They Tell, it was a no brainer. It was a match made in heaven. 

The book is about a girl named Pearl, who lives in a small town in Maine. Her father is accused of a fire that killed a wealthy family up the road, of who he was a caretaker for. However, during summer while Pearl is a waitress at the country club, the only surviving member of the fire, Tristian, and his friends make a point of sitting in her section. But as she and Tristan begin to grow closer and Pearl tries to clear her father’s name, she becomes trapped in years’s worth of secrets and lies. 

A good plot twist is like a good slice of cake, and this book had plenty pieces to go around. It took me days to process the ending after I finished it, and I spent at least 30 minutes of that time staring at a wall. Needless to say, it was a fantastic slice of cake. I am afraid to say anything else because I don’t want to give it away, but as a child who grew up on Scooby Doo and the 1970’s Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys TV show, this book was twisted and amazing in every best possible way. 

For fans of We Were Liars and The Cheerleaders, this book is the perfect companion. I just don’t recommend reading it in the dark. You might not like what you see.