“But even if that happens – that doesn’t take away anything that happened before. The present. The fun you’ll have, everything you’ll learn about yourself. Nothing will take that away. So is it worth it? You’re damned right it’s worth it.”

this is kind of an epic love story

THIS IS KIND OF AN EPIC LOVE STORY 

By: Kheryn Callender

On Sale: October 30, 2018

Review by: Ivy

 

Nathan Bird thinks he’ll never get his happy ending. His dad died, leaving his mom alone, and his girlfriend broke up with him after she cheated, and thinks they’re better off as friends. Bird thought Fiona was the love of his life, but apparently, the classic movies that he covets so much were wrong about romance.

Then his former best friend Oliver James moves back to Seattle, and Bird realizes that their feelings for each other may have escalated since they were kids. But, of course, Oliver has a boyfriend in Santa Fe, and it seems like they’re going steady.

Bird needs to start planning for his future, but between his fractured friend group, overprotective mom, and stressful romance, he doesn’t know how he’ll ever be the successful screenwriter he always imagined himself becoming. When life comes to a boiling point, Bird realizes maybe the inspiration he needed for his first great screenplay was right in front of him all along, and that owning his flaws will give him the confidence he needs to pursue his own happy ending.

This is Kind Of An Epic Love Story was short and sweet, and much more than a romance. This book explored Bird’s friends and family just as much as it explored his romantic life. There wasn’t any big, serious conflict, but it was still interesting getting to spend a couple months in Bird’s life.

The diversity in Epic Love Story was awesome, labels never being used for gender and sexuality, the characters living however they felt most comfortable and no one else caring since Seattle is a magical place. Many different races and classes were represented, and Oliver James was hearing impaired/deaf, not that it was an issue or a conflict. Any time signs were used they were simply described, and I was able to add basic signs like ‘good’ and ‘why’ to my small but growing ASL vocabulary. (which is a very stereotypical hearing person thing to say).

I loved Bird in general. He was unique, and very relatable. He had a rocky relationship with his mom, he was tight with his sister, he didn’t always know how to treat his friends, he had commitment and vulnerability issues, and most importantly, he never questioned his sexuality. Coming out wasn’t a plot point or conflict, which is so unique in YA right now. We need coming out stories, but we also need queers like Bird just living their lives.

In conclusion, I really liked This is Kind Of An Epic Love Story, and I think it was a really relatable and fun book that many different kinds of readers can enjoy. It is an awesome novel for fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, Julie Murphy, and Dear Evan Hansen (which is going to be a book soon so it counts (also the only real reason I’m including it is because Bird wears an arm cast for most of the book and Evan has made casts iconic)) Rating: Five/Five

 

Favorite Quotes:

  • “I have a thought that’s starting to become more and more of a recurring theme in my life: I probably should’ve just stayed home and watched Friends with my mom.”
  • “If you feel the need to do it – to write, or paint, or take photos, or anything – then that’s what you have to do. That’s the one most important thing you can do. Because if you don’t, then there isn’t any point to anything, right? You’ve got to do it.”
  • “I’m realizing it doesn’t really matter if we have a happy ending or not. We’re happy right now. That’s the important part, right?