SINNER: I Want More, Please!!

sinner

Title: Sinner
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: 7/01/2014
Reviewed by: Willa

Emotions right now:

(are we paying attention to that gif because it’s making me dissolve into laughing fits repeatedly) A NEW MAGGIE STIEFVATER PEOPLE! AS IN A NEW MERCY FALLS BOOK! A BOOK WHICH I’M READING SIX MONTHS PAST RELEASE DATE! A BOOK WHICH I’M CRYING OVER BECAUSE I’M EMOTIONAL LIKE THAT!

On a more serious note though, this book made me feel a lot of things, including (but not limited to):

  1. Anger at Cole St. Clair and Isabel repeatedly
  2. Love for Cole St. Clair and Isabel repeatedly
  3. The desire to hug Leon repeatedly
  4. The desire to comfort Sofia repeatedly
  5. The desire to bash Baby’s face into a wall repeatedly
  6. The desire to shake Isabel by the shoulders repeatedly
  7. The desire to put Cole and Isabel in a room together and tell them to just work it out and kiss already
  8. The desire to cry, repeatedly.

How does Maggie Stiefvater do this? How does she force me to sit down and read a book in a matter of hours and feel this weird mixture of empty and full at the same time? How am I currently ALIVE?! This book is all kinds of amazing.

We’re thrown back into the world of Cole and Isabel, but what I love about this book specifically is that we see them in a new environment: Los Angeles. In this new city, we see the extremes at which both characters live their lives, and the measures Cole will go to get Isabel back. Basically, Isabel is stupid for like 90% of the book (what’s new?) and refuses to understand that Cole is in love with her and isn’t going anywhere. Isabel, per usual, pretends like he’s going to leave and pushes him away. Bit rude, don’t you think?

Cole, on the other hand, is all kinds of crazy, just like we like him. He’s making music again, has his own TV show, and in constant pursuit of Isabel’s adoration. We see in Sinner how much he loves Isabel, and how he’s not going to let her go. And this broke my heart so many times.

The sole issue I had with this book was the introduction of Isabel’s life. Like, what? I was confused on why a lot of the things in this book were happening, but that’s possibly because I’ve forgotten the details of Cole and Isabel’s story from the earlier books (so this issue might just be my problem). Let me know in comments what your opinion on this topic is!

Overall, I just fell head over heels for this book. Sinner is poetic, beautiful, touching, and heartbreaking. It teaches us about love and the lengths we will go to keep people in our lives, and how important it is to follow our hearts and trust ourselves. I want more, please! That epilogue did NOT cure me of anything, Stiefvater.

Leave a Reply

