Why Hufflepuffs Aren’t Lame

by Trini

 

hufflefpuff

 

When I first read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I wondered what house I would be in. (This was years ago, I couldn’t even tell you how old I was)  Now, as an obsessive Harry Potter fan, I know what house I am in. After extensive research, I realized I was a Hufflepuff. On first thought, I was disappointed, but I soon learned to love being a Hufflepuff. What most people think about Hufflepuffs is, well, lame. They don’t have any distinguishable quality about them leading you to believe that they’re really cool. You’ve got Gryffindors, the brave ones, Ravenclaws, the smart ones, Slytherins, the cunning ones, and then there’s Hufflepuffs. Great Finders? Yeah, right. Even as a Hufflepuff, I struggle to find things such as my phone or keys.

So, what does make a Hufflepuff so great? They’re nice? They’re helpful? Hufflepuffs seem to be a lot like extras in a movie. Which reminds me, in Harry Potter, they’re even treated like extras in the book/movie. And before Newt Scamander, how many great Hufflepuffs were there? I can count them on one hand, that’s for sure. (And it took me a full ten minutes to think of some)

Here’s the catch: Hufflepuffs are the ones that don’t quite fit into boxes. That’s why there’s such a variety of types of Hufflepuffs. I’m not saying that the other houses are filled with generic people because, let’s face it, no one is really ‘generic’.  My opinion on it is that us Hufflepuffs don’t quite fit into the categories of the other houses. Usually they still fit in with the whole ‘nice and a good finder’ outline as well. (Example: Newt Scamander)

If this hasn’t convinced you that Hufflepuffs aren’t lame, then go sit down with a nice cup of tea and watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. If nothing can convince you that Hufflepuffs aren’t lame, then at least seeing Newt waltzing around America for his first time should put a smile on your face.